lusting after…

Liquid Highlighter Reviews

Hey,

I thought I would start off my blog with a review of my current favourite liquid highlighters. Now that we’re coming into summer, I’ve become obsessed with getting ‘glowing’ skin, and I find that liquid highlighters are the perfect way to achieve this. I like to use them either as a base under my foundation, for an all-over luminous glow, or directly onto the cheekbones for a more dramatic look.

My liquid highlighter favourites, from L-R: No, 7 Instant Illusions Rapid Radiance Balm, Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector, Seventeen Skin Wow! 3 Way Highlighter

My liquid highlighter favourites, from L-R: No, 7 Instant Illusions Rapid Radiance Balm, Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector, Seventeen Skin Wow!

Firstly, I recently purchased the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector and it has already become one of my favourite products. I have the shade ‘opal’, which I find suits fair / medium skintones best. I love using this under my foundation; it makes your skin look healthy and glowing, and despite the name, it isn’t actually shimmery, just lovely and dewy looking.

Swatch of 'Opal'

Swatch of ‘Opal’

As the above swatch shows, this highlighter also has great gold-hued pigmentation, and a creamy texture.

However, it is very pricey, so I’ve also selected a couple of cheaper highlighters to review. One of these is the No. 7 Instant Illusions Rapid Radiance Balm. This is best used as a base for make up, or mixed in with foundation, and gives a lovely, subtle glow.

photo 2 (13)

I think this product is great value for money, and, as the swatch shows, it’s also perfect for a more natural look.

Finally, if I want a more dramatic look, I love to use the Seventeen Skin Wow! 3 way Highlighter

photo 4 (9)

photo 1 (13)

This is super shimmery, so I find it perfect for highlighting cheekbones and the contours of your face. It reminds me of Benefit’s High Beam, and gives a stunning, sparkling look, perfect for a night out!

I hope you found this review helpful, have a lovely weekend!

This entry was published on April 4, 2014 at 4:34 pm. It’s filed under Beauty Review, makeup edit and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

